My gaming history, part 3

Back from a long blogging hiatus.

Something old, something new

After years and years of playing role-playing games revolving around modern horror, gothic horror, vampires, and new weird I was feeling around for something completely different to get exited about. For a while, I was part of a gaming group very much into story- and narrative-oriented gaming, as well as experimenting with Forge-style rules systems. I really got into Dogs in the Vineyard (which I now rank among the absolute top five games I’ve played). We also played a game of Cold City, a few sessions of CthulhuTech, as well as home-brew systems and settings. This era also marks my return to the grand old man of role-playing games, the so-called “world’s most popular fantasy role-playing game”.

Go Find the Path, young man!

Paizo, the publisher’s of Dragon and Dungeon magazines had finally gotten tired of the whole 4th edition cock-up and decided to go their own way with a world and gaming system of their own. The Pathfinder RPG was announced in early 2008, and there was a lot of hype about their new format adventure books, the so called Adventure Paths. The format, made popular by mega-adventures such as Shackled City, was re-imagined as a series of six book sets, published monthly. The first of Paizo’s adventure paths was called Rise of the Runelords. The game system would take up where 3.5 left off, with a few small upgrades here and there. The new game/work-in-progress quickly earned the moniker D&D 3.75. As I write we’re three months from the release of the Pathfinder RPG.

My Pathfinder campaign, going by the name Tiennäyttäjä started on May 23rd, 2008, almost exactly a year ago. The campaign was Rise of the Runelords. This Adventure Path is, in my opinion, excellent, and the campaign was an instant success. We played a whopping total of 18 game sessions, and all the way through three Adventure Path books. The campaign was eventually canceled due to player line-up changes and some other issues, but I still recall some of those game sessions as some of the greatest in my role-playing career. The campaign was also a great learning exercise of do ‘s and don’t ‘s concerning the game system itself, and how to run very long story-oriented campaigns. I might write down some of these experiences later. For now, I’m just aiming to get this history lesson out of the way.

That’s about all I’ve got time for now. Guess I have to write a fourth installment after all.

4 responses to “My gaming history, part 3

  1. Pingback: My roleplaying history « Six-Die Samurai

  2. “The campaign was also a great learning exercise of do ’s and don’t ’s concerning the game system itself, and how to run very long story-oriented campaigns. I might write down some of these experiences later.”

    Please do.

Leave a Reply

